SFJAZZ Collective

SFJAZZ Collective

Our resident supergroup commemorates their 10th Anniversary with a four-night celebration, highlighting their greatest arrangements and original compositions. An all-star jazz ensemble comprising eight of the finest performer/composers at work in jazz today, the SFJAZZ Collective’s mission each year is to perform fresh arrangements of works by a modern jazz master and newly commissioned pieces by the Collective members. Through this pioneering approach, simultaneously honoring jazz’s recent history while championing the music’s up-to-the-minute directions, the Collective embodies SFJAZZ’s commitment to jazz as a living, ever-relevant art form. This “best of” week includes material from each of the group’s tribute composers, including Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner, Horace Silver, Stevie Wonder and Chick Corea. The opening night performance will highlight the music of Thelonious Monk on what would have been the jazz icon’s 96th birthday, and will mark the performance debut by a new Collective member, vibraphonist Warren Wolf.

Artist Personnel

Miguel Zenón alto saxophone
David Sánchez tenor saxophone
Avishai Cohen trumpet
Robin Eubanks trombone
Warren Wolf vibraphone
Edward Simon piano
Matt Penman bass
Obed Calvaire drums

Artist Website


"The octet boasts as much or more collective talent, firepower and critical acclaim than any other jazz ensemble going.. " — DownBeat
"As soloists you won't be able to find a finer collection of leaders who have come together in the spirit of communal communication. " — Jazzreview.com