SFJAZZ

## SFJAZZ Gala 2023 to Honor Founder Randall Kline With SFJAZZ Lifetime Achievement Award

May 4, 2023 SFJAZZ Center, San Francisco, CA <u>SFJAZZ.org</u>

(San Francisco, CA, November 17, 2022) – SFJAZZ announces the SFJAZZ Gala 2023 will be held on May 4, 2023 at the SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco, honoringFounder and Executive Artistic Director Randall Kline with the SFJAZZ Lifetime Achievement Award. In the past 40 years, Kline grew a small community festival into a San Francisco cultural institution and one of the most influential jazz organizations in the world. After a lifetime of championing this uniquely American art form, he is stepping down in November 2023. SFJAZZ was founded in 1983, and 2023 will mark the 40th Anniversary of the organization and the 10th Birthday of the SFJAZZ Center. The SFJAZZ Gala will raise proceeds for the organization's artistic and education programs.

Hosted by NEA Jazz Master Dianne Reeves, the SFJAZZ Gala will feature exclusive musical collaborations between artists who have had a long relationship with the organization. Confirmed artists include Regina Carter, Rosanne Cash and John Leventhal, Ravi Coltrane, Sullivan Fortner, Eric Harland, Branford Marsalis, Cécile McLorin Salvant, Gonzalo Rubalcaba, John Santos, SFJAZZ Collective, Veronica Swift, and Miguel Zenón (musical director).

Tim Dattels and Kristine Johnson and Divesh and Diksha Makan are SFJAZZ Gala 2023 Co-Chairs and the Gala Host Committee is London N. Breed, Michael Covarrubias and Kathleen McIntosh, Molly Joel Coye, Bruce and Hala Cozadd, Concepción and Irwin Federman, Katie Hall and Tom Knutsen, Michael Lazarus and Laura Kline, Delroy and Nashormeh Lindo, Alison and Michael Mauzé, Shakeya A. McDow, Robert Mailer Anderson and Nicola M. Miner, Lisa S. Pritzker, Joshua Redman, Joe Sherman and Monica Vidal, Darian and Rick Swig, Roselyne Chroman Swig, Pasha and Laney Thornton, and Denise Young.

1991, SFIAZZ has awarded the Since annual Lifetime Achievement Award to artists and visionaries who have represented the highest level of creative endeavor and whose careers have had a broad impact on culture and society as a whole. This award acknowledges those who have not only demonstrated a career-long commitment to excellence, but those who have moved the music forward through their work, embodying our organization's core value that jazz is a living and ever-evolving art form. Honorees have included Wynton Marsalis, Mavis Staples, Chucho Valdés, Preservation Hall, Zakir Hussain, Joni Mitchell, Mary Stallings, Tony Bennett, and many more.

## **Tickets and Information**

VIP Sponsorship, Luminary, Champion, and After Party tickets are now available via SFJAZZ.org/Gala or gala@sfjazz.org.

For Further details on the SFJAZZ Gala 2023 including ticket and sponsorship information, visit <u>www.SFJAZZ.org/Gala</u>.

Media Contact: Marshall Lamm, mlamm@sfjazz.org, 510-928-1410.