Alone Together: Zakir Hussain
SFJAZZ Logo

Alone Together: Zakir Hussain w/ Special "Virtual" Guests Mickey Hart & Rakesh Chaurasia

Zakir Hussain

Members-Only Price: $10.00


You must be logged in as a Member to rent or access this On Demand concert.

Not a Member? Join or Renew today!

Login

PERFORMED LIVE
THU, NOV 12 • 7–8 PM PT (10–11 PM ET)

ENCORE BROADCAST
w/ ZAKIR HUSSAIN IN REAL-TIME CHAT 
SUN, NOV 15 • 6–7 PM PT (9–10 PM ET)

CONCERT ON-DEMAND 
SUN, NOV 15 • 7 PM PT – THU, DEC 31 • 11:59 PM PT

PLEASE NOTE
Ticket holders will have access to the live stream, Encore broadcast, and will be able to watch on-demand (unlimited views allowed).

The scion of a legendary Indian percussion dynasty, Zakir Hussain is universally acknowledged as the world’s greatest tabla virtuoso. For this exclusive live streaming event, Hussain performed solo and with a pair of special guests collaborating in real time from around the world — Grateful Dead legend Mickey Hart and bansuri flute virtuoso Rakesh Chaurasia. Since arriving in the Bay Area in 1970 as a celebrated teenage prodigy trained by his legendary father Alla Rakha, the former SFJAZZ Resident Artistic Director and SFJAZZ Lifetime Achievement Award honoree has played an essential role bringing the rhythmic sophistication of North Indian classical music into a diverse array of settings, from Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Project and Shakti and Remember Shakti with John McLaughlin to Sangam with drummer Eric Harland and saxophone icon Charles Lloyd.

Support the artists. Support SFJAZZ's mission. Proceeds from this purchase and any Tip Jar contributions will be split 50/50 with the artists and SFJAZZ's artistic & education programs.

Video Preview