SFJAZZ Collective 10

SFJAZZ Collective 10

10th Anniversary: Best of
Live at the SFJAZZ Center, 2013

Non-Member: $10
Member: $9.00

This limited edition, 10th anniversary disc highlights the best of the SFJAZZ Collective, from the fresh arrangements of the music of Herbie Hancock, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk and Stevie Wonder, to their own stimulating compositions. Recorded during the Collective’s four-night residency on the Robert N. Miner Auditorium stage at the SFJAZZ Center in October 2013, this recording celebrates a 10-year musical legacy, and what’s coming next.

Featuring Miguel Zenón (alto saxophone), David Sánchez (tenor saxophone), Avishai Cohen (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Stefon Harris (vibraphone), Edward Simon (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Obed Calvaire (drums).

  • Limited edition CD available exclusively through SFJAZZ – not available in stores.
  • The compositions of jazz legends Herbie Hancock, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk and Stevie Wonder, arranged by members of the SFJAZZ Collective.
  • Original compositions by individual SFJAZZ Collective members past and present.

Track Listing

1.) And What If I Don't - Herbie Hancock (arranged by Gil Goldstein)
2.) Alcatraz - Dave Douglas
3.) Frosted Evils - Matt Penman
4.) Moment's Notice - John Coltrane (arranged by Gil Goldstein)
5.) Visions - Stevie Wonder (arranged by Stefon Harris)
6.) San Francisco Holiday - Thelonious Monk (arranged by Miguel Zenón)
7.) Union - Eric Harland
8.) Lingala - Miguel Zenón
9.) When Will the Blues Leave - Ornette Coleman (arranged by Gil Goldstein)
10.) More Than Meets the Ear - Robin Eubanks

Recorded by Jeff Cressman Oct. 17-20, 2013 SFJAZZ Center, San Francisco
Live Sound Engineer: Masanori Yura
Mixed and Mastered by Jeff Cressman September, 2014 at Cressman Music Studio, San Francisco
Produced by Randall Kline and Jeff Cressman
Associate Producer: Jennie Wasserman
Executive producer: Randall Kline