Live: SFJAZZ Center 2013

Live: SFJAZZ Center 2013

The Music of Chick Corea & New Compositions

Non-Member: $35
Member: $31.50

This limited edition 2-disc set documents the SFJAZZ Collective’s fresh arrangements of the work of piano genius Chick Corea and their own stimulating compositions. Recorded during the Collective’s four-night residency in March 2013, this is the first CD made on the Robert N. Miner Auditorium stage at the SFJAZZ Center and marks the recorded debuts of tenor saxophonist David Sánchez and drummer Obed Calvaire with the band.

Featuring Miguel Zenón (alto saxophone), David Sánchez (tenor saxophone), Avishai Cohen (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Stefon Harris (vibraphone), Edward Simon (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Obed Calvaire (drums).

  • Limited edition 2-CD set available exclusively through SFJAZZ – not available in stores.
  • Each CD set is individually hand-numbered.
  • Booklet contains exclusive photos from the live performances at the SFJAZZ Center, liner notes by jazz journalist Jesse Hamlin, insights by the musicians and artist bios.
  • The compositions of jazz legend Chick Corea, arranged by members of the Collective.
  • Brand new compositions by individual Collective members.

Track Listing

1. Spain – Chick Corea (arranged by Edward Simon) 12:12
2. Rumble/City Gate
– Chick Corea (arranged by Matt Penman) 5:34
3. Let’s Take a Trip to the Sky
– Stefon Harris 10:33
4. Gibraltar
– David Sánchez 9:25
5. Space Circus
– Chick Corea (arranged by Robin Eubanks) 8:08
6. Home Is
– Avishai Cohen 13:18
7. La Fiesta
– Chick Corea (arranged by Miguel Zenón) 10:47

Disc 2
1. Matrix
– Chick Corea (arranged by Avishai Cohen) 9:41
2. 500 Miles High
– Chick Corea (arranged by Stefon Harris) 10:12
3. Vegan Las Vegas
– Matt Penman 9:40
4. Incessant Desires
– Edward Simon 11:56
5. Grand Opening
– Miguel Zenón 15:49
6. Crystal Silence
– Chick Corea (arranged by David Sánchez) 9:32
7. Shifting Centers
– Robin Eubanks 10:02

Executive Producer: Randall Kline
Producer: Jeff Cressman
Recorded by: Masanori Yuri
Mixed/Edited by: Jeff Cressman
Mastered by: Jeremy Goody