Live: SFJAZZ Center 2014

Live: SFJAZZ Center 2014

The Music of Joe Henderson & Original Compositions

Non-Member: $35
Member: $31.50

This limited edition 2-disc set, recorded during the Collective’s four-night residency in October 2014 on the Robert N. Miner Auditorium stage at the SFJAZZ Center, documents the SFJAZZ Collective’s fresh arrangements of the work of Joe Hendersonthe late saxophone giant and longtime San Francisco resident who had a long association with SFJAZZ—as well as their own stimulating compositions.

Featuring Miguel Zenón (alto saxophone), David Sánchez (tenor saxophone), Avishai Cohen (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Warren Wolf (vibraphone), Edward Simon (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Obed Calvaire (drums).

  • Limited edition 2-CD set available exclusively through SFJAZZ – not available in stores.
  • Each CD set is individually hand-numbered.
  • Booklet contains exclusive photos from the live performances at the SFJAZZ Center, liner notes by jazz journalist Jesse Hamlin, insights by the musicians and artist bios.
  • The compositions of jazz legend Joe Henderson, arranged by members of the Collective.
  • Brand new compositions by individual Collective members.

Track Listing

1. Recorda-Me – Joe Henderson (arranged by Miguel Zenón)
2. A Shade of Jade
– Joe Henderson (arranged by Edward Simon)
3. Big Tent, Little Tent
– Matt Penman
4. Cross Currents
– Robin Eubanks
5. Inner Urge
– Joe Henderson (arranged by Avishai Cohen)
6. Four Stars From Heaven
– Warren Wolf
7. Eternal Wait
– David Sánchez
8. Fire
– Joe Henderson (arranged by Obed Calvaire)

Disc 2
1. Y Todavia La Quiero
– Joe Henderson (arranged by David Sánchez)
2. Afro-Centric
– Joe Henderson (arranged by Matt Penman)
3. Synthesis of A Band, Parts 1, 2 and 3
– Miguel Zenón
4. Black Narcissus
– Joe Henderson (arranged by Robin Eubanks)
5. Locura
– Edward Simon
6. Evolution
– Avishai Cohen
7. Absolvents
– Obed Calvaire
8. Jinrikisha
– Joe Henderson (arranged by Warren Wolf)

Executive Producer: Randall Kline
Producer: Jeff Cressman
Recorded by: Masanori Yura
Mixed/Edited by: Jeff Cressman
Mastered by: Jeremy Goody