Live: SFJAZZ Center 2015

Live: SFJAZZ Center 2015

The Music of Michael Jackson & Original Compositions

The new SFJAZZ Collective CD
Non-Member: $35
Member: $31.50

This limited edition 2-disc set, recorded during the Collective’s four-night residency in October 2015 on the Robert N. Miner Auditorium stage at the SFJAZZ Center, documents the SFJAZZ Collective’s arrangements of the music of Michael Jackson as well as their own stimulating compositions.

Featuring Miguel Zenón (alto saxophone), David Sánchez (tenor saxophone), Sean Jones (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Warren Wolf (vibraphone), Edward Simon (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Obed Calvaire (drums).

  • Limited edition 2-CD set available exclusively through SFJAZZ – not available in stores.
  • Each CD set is numbered.
  • Booklet contains exclusive photos from the live performances at the SFJAZZ Center, liner notes by jazz journalist Jesse Hamlin, insights by the musicians and artist bios.
  • The compositions of King of Pop Michael Jackson, arranged by members of the Collective.
  • New compositions by individual Collective members commisioned by SFJAZZ.

Track Listing

1. The Love You Save – Michael Jackson (arranged by Robin Eubanks)
2. Blame It On the Boogie
– Michael Jackson (arranged by Matt Penman w/ Miguel Zenón)
3. Fall Prelude
– Miguel Zenón
4. Gray Skies in Baltimore
– Warren Wolf
5. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
– Michael Jackson (arranged by David Sánchez)
6. Franklin & Fell
– Sean Jones
7. Beauty of Space
– Edward Simon
8. Thriller
– Michael Jackson (arranged by Obed Calvaire)

Disc 2
1. Rock With You
– Michael Jackson (arranged by Sean Jones)
2. Smooth Criminal
– Michael Jackson (arranged by Miguel Zenón)
3. Mr. Right
– Matt Penman
4. Lineage
– David Sánchez
5. 150 Million Gold Francs
– Obed Calvaire
6. Human Nature
– Michael Jackson (arranged by Warren Wolf)
7. Why
– Robin Eubanks
8. This Place Hotel
– Michael Jackson (arranged by Edward Simon)

Executive Producer: Randall Kline
Producer: Jeff Cressman
Recorded by: Masanori Yura
Mixed/Edited by: Jeff Cressman
Mastered by: Jeremy Goody