Wonder: The Songs of Stevie Wonder

Wonder: The Songs of Stevie Wonder

Studio Recording

Non-Member: $15
Member: $13.50

Winner of Outstanding Jazz Album
at 45th Annual NAACP Image Awards

Recorded June 19-21, 2012 at New York University’s Steinhardt James L. Dolan Music Recording Studio, Wonder: The Songs of Stevie Wonder is the definitive studio recording of the Collective’s arrangements of the music of Stevie Wonder. This release follows the Collective’s Live in New York 2011 featuring the Wonder music and original compositions, recorded at Jazz Standard in New York City.

Featuring Miguel Zenón (alto saxophone), Mark Turner (tenor saxophone), Avishai Cohen (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Stefon Harris (vibraphone), Edward Simon (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Eric Harland (drums).

  • Limited edition CD available exclusively through SFJAZZ — not available in stores.
  • Studio recording works of pop singer, songwriter and all around musical genius Stevie Wonder, newly arranged by members of the Collective.
  • Contains original photography from SFJAZZ Photographer Laureate Jim Goldberg

Track Listing


1. Superstition – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Miguel Zenón*) 07:04
2. Visions – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Stefon Harris) 06:07
3. Race Babbling – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Robin Eubanks) 10:19
4. Creepin' – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Matt Penman) 07:22
5. Sir Duke – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Avishai Cohen) 8:24
6. Blame It On The Sun – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Mark Turner) 7:11
7. Do I Do – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Eric Harland**) 06:07
8. My Cherie Amour – Stevie Wonder (arranged by Edward Simon***) 09:07

* Congas by Miguel Zenón; Fender Rhodes by Edward Simon. Miguel Zenón plays Rico Reeds exclusively
** Co-produced by Matt Pierson; Vocals by Chris Turner; Eric Harland plays Yamaha Drums, Zildjian Cymbals and Vic Firth Sticks.
*** Percussion by Edward Simon; Edward Simon plays Steinway & Sons pianos

Executive Producer: Robert Mailer Anderson
Producer: Randall Kline
Associate Producer: Alexandra Casazza
Recording Engineer: Mark S. Willsher