Alone Together: Benny Green

Alone Together: Benny Green, solo piano

Benny Green

Members-Only Price: $10.00

You must be logged in as a Member to rent or access this On Demand concert.

Not a Member? Join or Renew today!


WED, OCT 14 • 7–8 PM PT (10–11 PM ET)

MON, OCT 19 • 8 PM PT – SUN, NOV 15 • 11:59 PM PT

Ticket holders will have access to the live stream, rebroadcast, and will be able to watch on-demand (unlimited views allowed).

This concert, the inaugural live-streamed performance from SFJAZZ’s Miner Auditorium stage for our Alone Together series, was filmed on October 14 and features virtuoso pianist and composer Benny Green. Few artists play modern jazz piano with more joy and finesse than Green, the one-time Berkeley High wunderkind who developed his lyrical and propulsive playing in the star-making bands of four master musicians: singer Betty Carter, drummer Art Blakey, trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, and bassist Ray Brown.

A successful bandleader for over three decades, Green has released a string of diverse and acclaimed records for the Criss Cross, Blue Note, Telarc, and Sunnyside labels, and appeared on recordings by Diana Krall, Etta Jones, and Milt Jackson.

On The Corner: A Q+A with Benny Green

"The Soulful Mr. Timmons" (comp. James Williams)
"No Smokin'" (comp. Horace Silver)
"Here's That Rainy Day" (comp. Jimmy Van Heusen & Johnny Burke)
"Blues In Lockdown Flat"
"Say You're Mine" (comp. Duke Pearson)
"Ray of Light"

All compositions by Benny Green, unless otherwise noted.